April is Distracted Driving Awareness Month

Release Date/Time: 3/28/2019 11:10 AM
Incident:April is Distracted Driving Awareness Month
Date: Month of April
Time: 
Location:City of Salinas

Salinas Police Department Challenges Drivers to ‘silence' the Distraction

April is Distracted Driving Awareness Month

Salinas, California – April is National Distracted Driving Awareness Month and Salinas Police Department will be joining law enforcement agencies statewide stopping drivers who violate California's hands-free cell phone law. Salinas Police Department will have additional officers on patrol during Distracted Driving Awareness Month looking specifically for drivers on their phones. Last year, Salinas Police Department issued 663 citations to drivers texting, calling or performing another function on their phone. Distracted driving is dangerous, especially when it involves a cell phone. According to preliminary data from the California Highway Patrol (CHP), 66 people were killed and more than 6,500 injured in 2017 from distracted driving-related crashes.

'Cell phones remain one of the top distractions for drivers,” according to Salinas Police Department Traffic Sgt. Robert Hampson 'Like any bad habit, it can be hard to break, but this habit can have life-altering consequences.” A 2018 observational survey by the California Office of Traffic Safety (OTS) on driver cell phone use found about 4.5 percent of drivers are still using their cell phone illegally, a nearly 27 percent increase from 2016. 'That text or phone call will never be worth losing a life over,” said Salinas Police Department Sgt. Hampson. 'That is why curbing distracted driving is high on our priority list.”

Under the most recent cell phone law that went into effect in 2017, drivers are only permitted to use their phone in a hands-free manner. The phones must be mounted on the dashboard, windshield or center console, and can only be touched once with the swipe or tap of a finger to activate or deactivate a function. First-time offenders face a $162 fine. If you need to make a call or text someone, pull over and park at a safe location. Struggling to stay off the phone while driving? Put your phone in a place you can't reach, like the backseat or trunk.

Funding for distracted driving enforcement operations are provided by a grant from the California Office of Traffic Safety, through the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration.

Release Authorized by Miguel Cabrera
Telephone:831 758-7289

Question of the Day

How do I contest a parking citation?
 
You may request an Administrative Review.
 
How much time do I have to contest a citation?
 
Payment or an administrative review is required within 21 days or further penalties will be assessed. If you fail to request a review or pay the citation as directed, vehicle registration will be withheld.
 
How do I obtain a copy of a citation?
 
You may obtain a copy by calling (831) 758-7363.  If no...

Our Latest News via Twitter